green bar

green bar

BoardmanThe Joe Boardman Emerging Leader Award was started in 2019 by New York Public Transit Association (NYPTA) leaders in recognition of Joseph Boardman’s dedication and leadership in the transit industry.

Joseph Boardman (Joe to many of those who knew him well) was instrumental in founding NYPTA in 1983. He served as president 1987-1989 and was an inaugural member of the New York Public Transit Hall of Fame in 1999 for his contributions to the Association and transportation industry.

Joe Boardman was devoted to mentorship and cultivating future transportation professionals. Several NYPTA members who had, or currently sit in, leadership roles in public transit often cite Joe’s support of their career as instrumental in their advancement in the field.

Boardman was the second-longest serving head of Amtrak, serving from 2008 to 2016 upon his retirement. He was also the longest-serving Commissioner of NYSDOT, from July 1997 until resigning to head the Federal Railroad Administration in 2005. Under Boardman’s leadership, DOT utilized innovative contracting methods that provided incentives to contractors for finishing work early and imposed penalties for late work. As a result of these initiatives, projects around the State were completed more quickly and with less disruptions to motorists and area residents. 

Before serving at the Department of Transportation, Boardman served as Chief Operating Officer of Progressive Transportation Services, Inc. in Elmira, NY, a transportation company that helped provide local and regional transportation services in 11 communities across New York State.

From 1981 to 1988, Joe served as Commissioner of Public Transportation in Broome County, where his leadership resulted in improved transportation services in the County. He was also a past member of the State Transportation Advisory Board, State and Local Affairs Committee and Small Operators Committee of the American Public Transportation Association.





2019 Ross Farrell, Director of Planning, CDTA









Group 36